top of page

Clean eating vegan summery mushrooms soup for a rainy day, or light lunch


Last week we have a couple rainy days here in O.C. And I mean was raining hard, was beautiful summer rain and I welcome it with a rest and reading my book trying to relax. And I thought a good soup will be perfect for these days, but I wanted to be vegan and light...for a summer rain.

I got delicious mushrooms that I had just bought in the market and potatoes in the fridge. And left over from a white bottle of wine I didn't feel like drink from anymore.

And come up with this recipe, now....the original recipe I did it in Spring with only one kind of mushrooms

"chanterelles" , and with parsley instead of cilantro, and green pepper. But I had some poblano peppers this time I wanted to eat so, I tweak it a bit. But I will post both versions for you to choose.

Enjoy it!

Ingredients

with a Tex-mex flair, (for Italian flair exchange the ingredients for the ones between parenthesis)

  • 2 tsp olive oil

  • 1 tablespoon paprika

  • 3 cloves garlic, minced

  • 6 cups vegetable broth (low sodium)

  • 8-10 dried shiitake (for Italian flair exchange all the mushrooms for chanterelles )

  • about 1 1/2 cups sliced small mushrooms (white, oister, cremini, or any other. I used oister)

  • 2 portobella mushrooms caps thinly sliced

  • some cilantro to taste (Parsley for Italian flair)

  • 1 poblano pepper sliced (green pepper for Italian flair)

  • 1 small vidalia onion sliced

  • 3 white potatoes in chunks

  • 1 cup of white wine (I used Chardonnay )

  • salt and pepper to taste

In a soup pot heat the oil, add the onion and saute until is translucent, add minced garlic, and poblano pepper and saute over medium heat until fragrant (3-5 minutes). Add the mushrooms and saute a little more, Add the cup of wine, let the sauce simmer/cook until wine reduces almost completely, incorporate the potatoes and a generous tablespoon of paprika, add the vegetable broth and season to taste , cook until potatoes are done. Add a little bit of cilantro and taste for seasoning again, bring to a simmer and cook for 15 minutes.

Remove from the heat and let stand for a little bit.

Taste, adjust for seasoning. Remove from the heat, cover and let stand for 10-15 minutes.

Serve topped with cilantro, while still hot or cold.

bottom of page