top of page

Clean eating fisherman summer soup with a Maryland touch!

I have been in long Hiatus, very needed...and today is raining out and foggy...I walk for a coffee and the rain got me on the way home...was marvelous!

And all I have been thinking since is that this soup today is just what the Doctor order!

I’ve been working on creating a soup with fish and shrimp that was easy and light for a rainy summer day and yet...flavorful and nutritious. And this one really hit the spot. It makes you feel energize after just a bowl! The fish is perfectly tender and flaky. Light, but full of flavor; a major comfort soup. This is based in a traditional Russian soup and you should use freshly caught fish just like they did in the old times there. But...Of course, is Maryland and in a rainy day I crave the soup but I crave some of our seasonings as well....I know I am lucky, I just need to go to my fresh seafood catch of the day here in OC and get me some, But if you can get your hands in fresh , by all means try it! If not, just good tilapia from the market and jumbo shrimp will do. You will not be judge!

Ingredients

10 cups water 2 cups reduced sodium organic vegetable broth salt to taste 3 medium potatoes 2 medium carrot, thinly sliced tilapia fish fillets, (as many as you want) you can cut them in pieces, but if you are like me and you want big chunks, leave them complete, they will fell appart anyways. 1/2 lb shrimp, shelled and deveined 2 Tbsp olive oil 1/2 medium onion, finely diced 2 celery sticks, thinly sliced 2 bay leaves 2 Tbsp "Old bay seasoning" (I did 2 tbsp for the cooking, but my son added one more to hes plate, so adjust to your taste. If you dont have Old bay or cannot get it where you are, 2tbsp of Mr Dash will work well here to) 1/8 tsp pepper 2 Tbsp fresh parsley or 1 Tbsp dried parsley

Avocado for topping (optional)

1. In a large soup pot over high heat, add 10 cups water, 2 cups broth and 1 Tbsp salt. Dice your potatoes and add them to the pot. Bring to a boil and continue to cook the potatoes 10 minutes after boiling.

2. Add sliced carrots into the pot and cook another 10 min

3. In a large skillet, add 3 Tbsp olive oil over med/high heat. Add finely diced onion and thinly sliced celery and saute until soft and golden (7 min). Toss this mixture into the pot.

4. Add shelled shrimp and chopped fish to the pot. Also, toss in your 2 bay leaves, 2Tbsp Old bay seasoning or Mrs. Dash, 1/8 tsp pepper, 2 Tbsp fresh parsley. Return to a boil and cook another 5 minutes or until fish and shrimp are fully cooked. Salt more to taste if desired and remove from heat. Serve with a sprig of fresh parsley or dill if you want, I prefer mine with chunks of avocado! ;)

bottom of page